### Joint Special Town Board Meeting March 4, 2013

The Hamlin, Clarkson and Kendall Town Boards held a Joint Special Town Board meeting in the Hamlin Town Hall Gymnasium located at 1658 Lake Road, Hamlin, New York. The meeting was called to order at 7 PM by Hamlin Town Supervisor Thomas Breslawski. The locations of the fire exits and defibrillator were explained for those present. Everyone was invited to participate in the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence for all the deceased residents of Hamlin, Clarkson, and Kendall.

Present: Hamlin Councilperson Jason Baxter, Hamlin Councilperson Craig Goodrich, Hamlin Councilperson Martin Maier, Hamlin Town Supervisor Thomas Breslawski, Clarkson Councilperson Patrick Didas, Clarkson Councilperson Allan Hoy, Clarkson Councilperson Christa Filipowicz, Clarkson Town Supervisor Paul Kimball, Clarkson Deputy Town Clerk Kathy Kemp, Kendall Councilperson Donald Pritchard, Kendall Councilperson David Schuth, Kendall Councilperson Margaret Lynn Szozda, Kendall Councilperson Bart Joseph, Kendall Town Supervisor Daniel Gaesser, and Kendall Town Clerk Amy Richardson, Attorney Ray DiRaddo.

Excused: Hamlin Councilperson David Rose

Absent: Clarkson Councilperson Scott Tantalo,

Also Present: Vicki Breslawski, Paul Seifert, Bob Jones, Ronald Breslawski, Daryl Prince, George Dorgan, Robert Blank, Craig Siebert, Linda Morey, Jack Prince, Jim Guion, Tom Maier, Glen Unterborn, Ken Keirn, Jill Shipman, Charles Hungerford, Carolyn Hungerford, Anthony DiNatale, David Walker, Mark Flannery, Mike Gross, Kathryn Gross

Supervisor Breslawski read the following statement from Hamlin Councilman David Rose: "Lapprove the appointment of the following Fire Commissioners: Jim Guion Ron Breslaw

"I approve the appointment of the following Fire Commissioners: Jim Guion, Ron Breslawski, Daryl Prince, Linda Morey and Glen Unterborn as the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District Commissioners. I also approve the appointment of Vicki Breslawski as the Treasurer of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District. I know that they will do a great job for the newly formed Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District."

## RON BRESLAWSKI APPOINTED AS FIRE COMMISSIONER OF HAMLIN MORTON WALKER FIRE DISTRICT

**Resolution # 120** Motion was made by Councilperson Hoy, seconded by Councilperson Goodrich, requesting Joint Town Board resolution to appoint Ron Breslawski as Fire Commissioner of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District for a term to expire on December 31, 2013.

Ayes 13 Nays 0

Motion Carried.

## JIM GUION APPOINTED AS FIRE COMMISSIONER OF HAMLIN MORTON WALKER FIRE DISTRICT

**Resolution # 121** Motion was made by Councilperson Maier, seconded by Councilperson Goodrich, requesting Joint Town Board resolution to appoint Jim Guion as Fire Commissioner of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District for a term to expire on December 31, 2013.

Ayes 13

Nays 0

Motion Carried.

## LINDA MOREY APPOINTED AS FIRE COMMISSIONER OF HAMLIN MORTON WALKER FIRE DISTRICT

**Resolution # 122** Motion was made by Councilperson Goodrich, seconded by Councilperson Baxter, requesting Joint Town Board resolution to appoint Linda Morey as Fire Commissioner of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District for a term to expire on December 31, 2013.

Ayes 13

Nays 0

Motion Carried.

## DARYL PRINCE APPOINTED AS FIRE COMMISSIONER OF HAMLIN MORTON WALKER FIRE DISTRICT

**Resolution # 123** Motion was made by Councilperson Goodrich, seconded by Councilperson Baxter, requesting Joint Town Board resolution to appoint Daryl Prince as Fire Commissioner of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District for a term to expire on December 31, 2013.

Ayes 13

Nays 0

Motion Carried.

# GLEN UNTERBORN APPOINTED AS FIRE COMMISSIONER OF HAMLIN MORTON WALKER FIRE DISTRICT

**Resolution # 124** Motion was made by Councilperson Baxter, seconded by Councilperson Goodrich, requesting Joint Town Board resolution to appoint Glen Unterborn as Fire Commissioner of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District for a term to expire on December 31, 2013.

Ayes 13

Nays 0

Motion Carried.

# VICKIE BRESLAWSKI APPOINTED AS TREASURER OF HAMLIN MORTON WALKER FIRE DISTRICT

**Resolution # 125** Motion was made by Councilperson Baxter, seconded by Councilperson Goodrich, requesting Joint Town Board resolution to appoint Vickie Breslawski as Treasurer of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District for a term to expire on December 31, 2013.

Ayes 13

Navs 0

Motion Carried.

**SWEARING IN OF OFFICERS:** Honorable Judge Paul S. Rath

### BADGES PRESENTED TO COMMISSIONERS BY JACK PRINCE, Past Commissioner

Emeritus, 32 years of service as a HFD Commissioner to:

- Commissioner Ron Breslawski
- Commissioner Jim Guion
- Commissioner Linda Morey
- Commissioner Daryl Prince
- Commissioner Glen Unterborn

### BADGES PRESENTED TO FIRE CHIEFS BY GEORGE DORGAN, Past HFD Chief, Past

Battalion 2 Coordinator, and Past HFD Commission Chairman to:

- Chief Tom Maier
- Deputy Chief Ed Barth
- Deputy Chief Ken Keirn

#### BADGE PRESENTED BY HAMLIN PRESIDENT PAUL SEIFERT TO:

Treasurer Vicki Breslawski

#### **BADGE PRESENTED BY MORTON PRESIDENT CRAIG SIEBERT TO:**

• Deputy Treasurer Robert Jones

#### BADGE PRESENTED BY WALKER PRESIDENT CHARLES HUNGERFORD TO:

Secretary Kathryn Gross

Jerry Clement stated, "Supervisor Breslawski, Supervisor Gaesser, Supervisor Kimball and honorable members of the Town Boards, I present the new leadership of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District. We all have learned that it takes three ingredients, heat, fuel and oxygen to create fire. Before you, you see the leadership of the three organizations that stop fire, make rescues and provide emergency medical services to your communities 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and they do this as volunteers. One, it takes fire departments to create and maintain dedicated men and women willing to do the job. Two, it takes chiefs and line officers to ensure the men and women are properly trained, operate effectively and efficiently on scene and always come home. Three, it takes proper oversight, creation and maintenance of the physical resource and good financial management of the taxes received to support the volunteer's mission.

On behalf of the members of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District, and the members of the three Fire Departments, we offer our appreciation to you for the continued support of the three Town Boards, and especially the Hamlin Highway Department, in assisting us in achieving that mission. Thank you!"

Supervisor Breslawski closed with the following: "I've watched this consolidation from the beginning, and what I've seen is three dedicated groups of public servants working hard together to become one even stronger organization.

I personally would like to thank Consolidation Committee Chairman Greg Speer, Administrative Director Jerry Clement and Attorney Ray Diraddo for the professional job that they did throughout this entire process.

On behalf of the residents of the Town of Hamlin and the Town Board, I congratulate all of the new Fire Commissioners and all the new fire officers who will be protecting the Town and thank you for your service, both past and future."

Pursuant to Town Law §174, we, the Clerks of the Towns of Hamlin, Clarkson and Kendall, set March 5<sup>th</sup>, 2013 at 7:00 PM at the Hamlin Fire Hall, 1521 Lake Road, Hamlin, NY 14464, for the Organizational Meeting of the Hamlin Morton Walker Fire District. Thanking you in advance for your service.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

A motion was made by Councilperson Goodrich, seconded by Councilperson Maier to adjourn the meeting at 7:25 PM as all business has been concluded.

Ayes 13

Nays 0

Motion Carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathi A. Rickman Hamlin Town Clerk, MMC